December 13, 2023, marked the culmination of the Creative Industry Summit, a three-day event that brought together enthusiasts from various creative fields conducted by the Department of Trade and Industry (DTI) in collaboration with the City of Bacolod at the SMX Convention Center.

Chairperson for the committee on History, Culture, and Arts Councilor Em Ang delivered a short but very meaningful message following her speech: an overview of the engaging workshops that took place during the summit by Dr. Frances Mae Llamas, Bacolod LEDIPO Head and focal person for the Bacolod Creative Industry Summit.

The highlight of the program is the presentation of output and winners from the workshops in photography, digital arts, graphic arts, souvenir arts, and live events.

The Souvenir Arts Workshop was led by Ms. Arlene Infante, who delved into the theme “Masskara to the World” and used masks as the base of the design.

The winners of the souvenir art competition were:

1st Place: Ivy Ojera

2nd Place: Jo An Medalla

3rd Place: Ernielyn Deparan

The Digital Arts Workshop, led by Ms. Jinky Besa, Creative Director and COO of Holysoft Studios Philippines, enlightened participants on game development and concept art.

The Digital Arts winners were:

1st Place (Team Keera): Mark Lawrence Jarmin, Arch Roger Andre Aguilar, Myezhe L. Asong, Zian Andre Francis P. Aguilar, and Jeannie May P. Delfin

2nd Place (Team Uno Primero): Joval B. Arevalo, Bryan Sandico, and Meg Cajurao

The Graphic Arts Workshop, led by Mr. Daryl Feril, an award-winning multidisciplinary artist, explored “Homegrown: Branding and Design on an International Scale,” while Mr. Beethoven Tiano discussed the creative process, basic illustration, drawing, and typeface and font basics.

The Graphic Arts winners were:

1st Place (Team Graphikalon/Team Hype Creatives): Karol Jan P. Aguirre, Julie Ann S. Barañao, Airo Gene G. Alagban, Resty Joy M. Rafols, Jessa Chris Cañete, Ryan Cometa

2nd Place (Muscovado Studio): Matthew Ortega, Racquel Pineda, Joseph Antipuesto, Ruer Torculas, and Junmari Tupan

3rd Place (DA Creatives): Philip Aldrin Nalang, Danica Jane Yosoya, Janine Ledesma, Adrianne Mae del Rosario, Ferluvin Abdon Cortez, and Mary Joy Siglos

The Photography Workshop, led by Mr. Aeson Baldevia and John Kimwell E. Laluma, both international award-winning photographers, shared insights into documentary, fine art, travel, and landscape photography.

The Photography winners were:

1st Place: Joy Angela Gepez

2nd Place: Fritz Medalla

3rd Place: Jane Descartin

Lastly, the Live Events Workshop was led by Mr. Juno Oebanda, Mr. Rodney Escalon, and Mr. Martin Miraveles, industry experts who explored fundamental concepts in live event production and original music propagation.

The Live Events Workshop winners were:

1st Place (Spark Creatives): Michael Casey, Sean Taelon, and Cyveh T. de los Santos, Shamilla Shandih Guevarra, and Quett Cuenca

2nd Place (Prods and Cons): Renielle Abayon, Sean Cacho, John Philip Yogore, Joshua Grant Empleo, and Lucy May Dadivas

3rd Place: Hans Lawrence M. Ambong, Christopher Española Jr., Hestia Hermosa, and John Mark G. Yanson

Special awards were also given to participants who excelled during the 3-day workshop.

DTI Choice Award: Mark Lawrence Armin

Creative’s Choice Award: John Mark G. Yanson

People’s Choice Award: Marlisa Maglantay

Panel’s Choice Award: Carrie Mae G. Naranja

Industry Summit Choice Award: Karol Jan P. Aguirre

The summit concluded with messages from Councilor Jason Villarosa on behalf of Mayor Albee Benitez, Mr. Charlie S. Co, and Ms. Aizel Joyce Tupas, representing DTI.
(Source: Bacolod City Public Information Office)

Share Post